U.S. Energy Information Administration logo
Skip to sub-navigation

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

This page has no sub-navigation. Skip to page content.

How many nuclear power plants are in the United States, and where are they located?

As of April 30, 2024, there were 54 commercially operating nuclear power plants with 94 nuclear power reactors in 28 states. lllinois has 11 reactors, the most of any state, with a total nameplate electricity generating capacity of 12,415 megawatts (MW), equal to 12% of total U.S. operating nuclear electricity generation capacity.

Of the 54 operating nuclear power plants, 19 have one reactor, 31 have two reactors, 4 have three reactors, and 1 has four reactors. The Alvin W. Vogtle Electric Generating Plant in Georgia is the largest U.S. nuclear power plant with 4 reactors and a total nameplate electricity generating capacity of about 4,658 MW and a total net summer electricity generating capacity of 4,530 MW. The R.E. Ginna Nuclear Power Plant in New York State is the smallest nuclear facility with one reactor with a nameplate generation capacity of 614 MW and a net summer generation capacity of about 580 MW. The smallest individual reactors are the two units at the Prairie Island nuclear plant in Minnesota, each with 593 MW nameplate generation capacity and about 520 MW of net summer generation capacity.

The newest nuclear reactor to enter service is the Vogtle Unit 4 at the Alvin W. Vogtle Electric Generating Plant plant in Georgia, which began commercial operation in April 2024, with 1,114 MW nameplate electricity generating capacity.

Learn more:
Plant Vogtle Unit 4 begins commercial operation
Does EIA publish the location of electric power plants, transmission lines, and substations?
Articles on nuclear energy
U.S. Nuclear Generation and Generating Capacity
Data on operable, proposed, and retired generators at U.S. power plants (file: GeneratorYyy)
List of new, retired, and planned generators (See Tables 6.3, 6.4, 6.5, and 6.6 for most recent published survey data.)
Nuclear Energy Explained

Last updated: May 8, 2024.

Other FAQs about Nuclear