Frequently Asked Questions

How many nuclear power plants are in the United States, and where are they located?

There are 60 commercially operating nuclear power plants with 100 nuclear reactors in 30 states in the United States. Of these plants, 36 have two or more reactors. The Palo Verde power plant in Arizona has three reactors and had the largest combined net summer generating capacity of 3,937 megawatts (MW) in 2014.  Fort Calhoun in Nebraska with a single reactor had the smallest net summer capacity at 479 megawatts (MW) in 2014.

Three nuclear power plants with a total of four reactors were taken out of service in 2013. The Crystal River power plant in Florida with one reactor was taken out of service in February 2013. The Kewaunee power plant in Wisconsin with one reactor was taken out of service in April 2013. The San Onofre power plant in California with two reactors was taken out of service in June 2013.

The Vermont Yankee nuclear power plant in Vermont, with a single reactor, was taken out of service in December 2014.

The newest reactor to enter service, Watts Bar Unit 2, came online in June 2016 and is expected to begin commercial operation by the end of 2016.

Four new nuclear reactors are actively under construction: Vogtle Units 3 and 4 in Georgia and Virgil C. Summer Units 2 and 3 in South Carolina.


Learn more:
Data on operable, proposed, and retired generators at U.S. power plants (file: GeneratorYyy)
List of new, retired, and planned generators (Tables 6.3, 6.4, and 6.5; for most recent month and year available)
Nuclear Energy Explained

Last updated: August 2, 2016

Other FAQs about Nuclear

On This Page:


Conversion & Equivalents

Crude Oil





General Energy

Natural Gas




Full list of upcoming reports

Sign up for email notifications

Get the What's New RSS feed

Didn't find the answer to your question? Ask an energy expert.