EIA Conference 2010
View 2010 EIA Energy Conference transcripts and presentations.
Tuesday, April 6
7:30 AM Registration and Badging
7:30 AM – 9:00 AM Continental Breakfast
9:00 AM Plenary Session

Welcome: Dr. Richard G. Newell, Administrator, U.S. Energy Information Administration

Keynote Addresses:  Dr. Steven Chu, Secretary of Energy

                                   Dr. Philip Sharp, President, Resources for the Future

                                   Steve Bolze, President & CEO, GE Power & Water

10:45 AM Break
  Concurrent Sessions
11:00 AM 1. U.S. Climate Change Policy: What's Next After Copenhagen?
Location: Amphitheater
2. Biofuels: Continuing Shifts in the Industry and Long-Term Outlook
Location: Ballroom B

Richard G. Newell, EIA

Moderator: A. Michael Schaal, EIA

Joseph E. Aldy, National Economic Council/Office of Energy and Climate Change

Jason S. Grumet, Bipartisan Policy Center

Karen Harbert, U.S. Chamber of Commerce

Gina McCarthy, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency


Paul Argyropoulos, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

R. Brooke Coleman, New Fuels Alliance

Peter Gross, EIA

Steven Hamburg, Environmental Defense Fund

12:30 PM

Luncheon Speaker: Dr. Lawrence H. Summers, Director of the National Economic Council
                                 Introduction by Dr. David Jhirad, SAIS

1:45 PM 3. EIA's 2010 Annual Energy Outlook Highlights
Location: Amphitheater
4. Short-Term Energy Prices — What Drivers Matter Most?
Location: Ballroom B
  Moderator: Paul D. Holtberg, EIA Moderator: Howard K. Gruenspecht, EIA


John J. Conti, EIA

Tom Eizember, Exxon Mobil Corporation

Mary H. Novak, IHS Global Insight


David M. Arseneau, Federal Reserve Board

Guy F. Caruso, Center for Strategic and International Studies

Christopher Ellsworth, Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

Edward L. Morse, Credit Suisse Securities

3:15 PM Break
3:30 PM 5. Energy and the Economy
Location: Amphitheater
6. Regulating Energy Commodities
Location: Ballroom B
  Moderator: Adam Sieminski, Deutsche Bank Moderator: Stephen Harvey, EIA


Stephen P. A. Brown, Resources for the Future

Donald L. Paul, University of Southern California Energy Institute

David Sandalow, DOE

Christof Rühl, Group Chief Economist, BP


Dan M. Berkovitz, U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission

Sean Cota, Cota & Cota

R. Skip Horvath, Natural Gas Supply Association

Deanna L. Newcomb, McDermott Will & Emery LLP

5:00 PM Adjourn for Reception, Atrium Hall
Wednesday, April 7 — Concurrent Sessions
7:30 AM Registration and Badging
7:30 AM – 9:00 AM Breakfast
9:00 AM 7. Natural Gas: U.S. Markets in a Global Context
Location: Amphitheater
8. Smart Grid: Impacts on Electric Power Supply and Demand
Location: Atrium Hall

Glen Sweetnam, EIA

Moderator: Eric M. Lightner, U.S. Department of Energy


Michelle Michot Foss, Chief Energy Economist and Head, Center for Energy Economics, Bureau of Economic Geology, Jackson School of Geosciences, University of Texas

Benjamin Schlesinger, Benjamin Schlesinger and Associates, Inc.

Andrew Slaughter, Shell


William M. Gausman, Pepco Holdings, Inc.

Christian Grant, Booz & Company, Inc.

F. Michael Valocchi, IBM Global Business Services

10:30 AM Break
11:00 AM 9. Energy Efficiency: Measuring Gains and Quantifying Opportunities
Location: Amphitheater
10. The Energy-Water Nexus: Availability and Impacts
Location: Atrium Hall
  Moderator: Deborah L. Bleviss, Johns Hopkins University, School of Advanced International Studies Moderator: Howard K. Gruenspecht, EIA


Jeffrey Genzer, National Association of State Energy Officials

Hannah Granade, McKinsey & Company

Steven Nadel, American Council for an Energy-Efficient Economy

Steven Wade, EIA


Shahid Chaudhry, California Energy Commission

M. Michael Hightower, Sandia National Laboratories

James Richenderfer, Susquehanna River Basin Commission

Jeff C. Wright, Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

12:30 PM Adjourn

Back to 2010 EIA Conference page