Home > Natural Gas > About U.S. Natural Gas Pipelines > Regional Definitions Map
About U.S. Natural Gas Pipelines - Transporting Natural Gas           
 based on data through 2007/2008 with selected updates

Regional Definitions

The regions defined in the above map are based upon the 10 Federal Regions of the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. The State groupings are as follows:
Northeast Region
    Federal Region 1
: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont.
    Federal Region 2: New Jersey, and New York.
    Federal Region 3:Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and West Virginia.
Southeast Region
    Federal Region 4: Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee.
Midwest Region
    Federal Region 5: Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, and Wisconsin.
Southwest Region
    Federal Region 6: Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas.
Central Region
    Federal Region 7:
Iowa, Kansas, Missouri and Nebraska.
    Federal Region 8:
Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, and Wyoming.
Western Region
    Federal Region 9: Arizona, California, and Nevada.
    Federal Region 10
: Idaho, Oregon, and Washington.